New Year, No Resolutions

I have never, ever been able to keep resolutions, so I’m not going to make any. There are some things I’m going to try to do though.

I can’t promise to update my blogs often, but I’ll try.

I’ve been finding it very hard to concentrate on anything in particular. I think there’s too much distraction in my life – mostly online – so I’m going to try to limit how much time I spend there.

I’m going to try to exercise more and eat better, more healthily, but no resolutions. I’m not setting myself up for failure.

I think most of all, I’m going to try to limit my exposure to negative news. It’s not that I don’t want to know what’s going on in the world, I do, but it’s been overwhelming to the point of paralyzing. Not just knowing what’s happening, but the onslaught of everyone’s opinions. Half the time people don’t seem to really know what they’re talking about, but they’re all up in arms about whatever the subject is. I can’t think straight. Loss of innocent lives and the resulting anger. And so much negativity in the Autistic world too. I try to keep up with developments in both Autism research and stories of individuals, their struggles and triumphs. But there’s so much anger, negativity, misunderstanding, and misinformation there too. I’d love to get involved in useful advocacy, but feel mostly shut down and unable to contribute. And I’ve been shut down personally by others for having my own opinions and trying to be helpful. That’s nothing new – it’s happened all my life which is why I rarely share them. But I think, for now, I need to take a step back and concentrate on the projects I need to finish.

So forgive me for not updating here often. There are things I’d love to share with you and stories I’d like to tell, but it’s difficult to put the time and energy into it at the moment, so it will be hit or miss, at least until my second novel is finished and published. I would love to hear from people and will gladly answer comments, etc. If you’d like to share your resolutions or strategies for remaining positive, please do!

In the meantime, I wish everyone an amazing, peaceful, encouraging New Year!

put the glass down

B B Shepherd is a musician, educator, and author and can also be found at Glistering: B’s Blog

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License.

Leave a Reply

